Region VI Scott Goodnight Award for Outstanding Performance as a Dean/Vice President

The Scott Goodnight Award for Outstanding Performance as a Dean/Vice President, named in honor of NASPA’s founding Chair of the Board of Directors (1919-1920), is presented to a Dean/Vice President who has demonstrated sustained professional achievement in student affairs work, innovative response in meeting students' needs, effectiveness in developing staff, and leadership in campus affairs. Nominees must also have earned stature among and the support of students, faculty, and fellow administrators on campus, sustained professional service and leadership within NASPA, and significant contributions to the field through publications or involvement in professional associations.

Award Criteria:

  • Viewed as collaborative, effective, and inspirational by a range of campus constituencies
  • Strategic and innovative in providing programs and services to students
  • High level of competency in developing staff
  • Sustained professional service and leadership within NASPA
  • Exemplary managerial and administrative skills
  • Leadership in greater campus and community affairs
  • Significant contributions to the field through publications and/or professional associations
  • Active individual NASPA membership
  • Current employment at, or recently retired from, an institution of higher education in NASPA Region VI

Award Information

Deadline: Jul. 31, 2019

Apply Now

Nominating someone is easy! One person should coordinate the submission and follow these steps.

  • STEP 1: Write a letter of nomination

  • STEP 2: Collect three (3) letters of support and a copy of the nominee’s resume.

  • STEP 3: The person coordinating the nomination should gather the nomination materials then go online to submit. You must upload all of the information at the same time. This person should then submit the nomination letter, letters of support online.

  • STEP 4: Submit the nomination by the published deadline!

Questions? Sherry Mallory, Nominations and Awards Co-Chair, at slmallory@ucsd.edu.

Current Recipients

Past Recipients

  • 2017 | Audrey Yamagata-Noji


  • 2016 | Henry Gee

    - Rio Hondo College

  • 2013 | Lori M. Ideta

    - University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

  • 2011 | Wm. Gregory Sawyer

    - California State University, Channel Islands

  • 2010 | Robert L. Palmer, Jr.

    - California State University, Fullerton

  • 2009 | Joanna Royce-Davis

    - University of the Pacific

  • 2008 | Douglas R. Freer

    - California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

  • 2007 | Michael Jackson

    - University of Southern California

  • 2006 | Renee Barnett-Terry

    - University of California, San Diego

  • 2005 | Shirley Jennings

    - Pima Community College

  • 2004 | Robert J. Naples

    - University of California, Los Angeles

  • 2003 | Sandra Hubler

    - Menlo College

  • 2002 | Edward Shenk

    - Napa Valley Community College

  • 2001 | Loydene Keith

    - California State University, Fullerton

  • 2000 | Judith Chambers

    - University of the Pacific

  • 1999 | Lois Bartholomew

    - Chandler-Gilbert Community College

  • 1998 | Alan Yang

    - University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

  • 1997 | Sally Peterson

    - University of California, Irvine