Region VI President’s Award

The President’s Award is a special recognition given to a college or university President or Chancellor who has, over a sustained period of time, advanced the quality of student life on their campus by supporting student affairs staff and initiatives. Nominees must demonstrate evidence of direct involvement in enhancing the quality of student life on campus, active attempts to involve students and student life staff in governance at the institution, and significant contributions to the profession which have an impact beyond an individual campus.

Award Criteria:

  • Recognized by all constituencies, particularly by students and student affairs professionals, as having a special interest in student life for a significant period of time
  • Direct involvement in enhancing the quality of student life on campus
  • Current employment, or recent retirement, as a President or Chancellor at an institution in NASPA Region VI that holds an active NASPA institutional membership
  • Demonstrated record of publications, speeches, and remarks that recognize the value and importance of student life

Award Information

Deadline: Jul. 31, 2019

Apply Now

Nominating someone is easy! One person should coordinate the submission and follow these steps.

  • STEP 1: Write a letter of nomination

  • STEP 2: Collect three (3) letters of support and a copy of the nominee’s resume.

  • STEP 3: The person coordinating the nomination should gather the nomination materials then go online to submit. You must upload all of the information at the same time. This person should then submit the nomination letter, letters of support online.

  • STEP 4: Submit the nomination by the published deadline!

Questions? Sherry Mallory, Nominations and Awards Co-Chair, at slmallory@ucsd.edu.

Current Recipients

Past Recipients

  • 2017 | Robert Nelsen


  • 2016 | Mildred Garcia

    - California State University, Fullerton

  • 2015 | Leslie Wong

    - San Francisco State University

  • 2013 | J. Michael Ortiz

    - California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

  • 2012 | Sharon D. Herzberger

    - Whittier College

  • 2011 | Timothy P. White

    - University of California, Riverside

  • 2010 | Horace Mitchell

    - California State University, Bakersfield

  • 2008 | Richard Rush

    - California State University, Channel Islands