Region IV-East Outstanding New Professional

Each year, NASPA recognizes outstanding members by honoring individual professionals with state/province, regional, and national awards. This award is presented to an individual within Region IV-East, with no more than 4 years’ experience, who is recognized by their peers or supervisor for superior service to their institution.  Each state/province within Region IV-East will have a recipient for the Outstanding New Professional award.

Winners will be notified in October and the presentation of the awards will take place at the Region IV-East Conference in November in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  Award winners should make every attempt to attend the Region IV-East Conference. 

In addition to the regional recognition that accompanies this award, the recipient will also be considered for the National NASPA Outstanding New Professional Award.

  • NASPA Membership is required for this nominee
  • Must be a member of NASPA Region IV-East
  • May not have served for more than four years in a full-time position in student affairs
  • Active involvement in NASPA, the regional organization, and to the individual’s institution(s)
  • Implemented innovative or creative programming efforts that address the needs of students at their institution
  • Has performed all aspects of their job in an exemplary manner
  • Indication of significant promise for future leadership roles in the student affairs profession.

Award Information

Deadline: Aug. 23, 2019


Bernard Little

Awards & Exemplary Programs Chair

NASPA Region-IV East Board

Email: blittle4@depaul.edu

Apply Now


STEP 1: Write a letter of nomination.

STEP 2: Gather the nominee's contact information and resume/c.v.

STEP 3: The person coordinating the nomination should gather the nomination materials (depending on the nomination may include letter(s) of support, a proposal, resume/C.V, etc.), visit the awards' website and submit the materials online. All of the application materials must be uploaded at the same time. 

STEP 4: Submit the nomination by the published deadline.

Current Recipients

Past Recipients

  • 2017 | Jill Jungemann

    Residence Life Coordinator - Butler University

  • 2017 | Sean Woolf

    Interim Director, Office of Wellness and Community Responsibility - Eastern Michigan University

  • 2017 | Courtney Thoreson

    Student Life Specialist - Rochester Community and Technical College

  • 2016 | Amy Fitzjarrald

    Residence Hall Coordinator - Illinois State University

  • 2015 | John Gipson

    - Purdue University

  • 2014 | Eboni Turnbow

    - Wayne State University