Region IV-East Innovative Program

This award will be presented to the professional(s) or institution who has developed an outstanding innovative program within Region IV-East.  Recognized programs demonstrate ideas, methods, or programs which furthers the growth of students and enhances life on campus.  Additionally the program should reflect a result of improved educational activities, services, or management for a college or university community.

Winners will be notified in October and the presentation of the awards will take place at the Region IV-East Conference in November Des Moines, Iowa.  Award winners should make every attempt to attend the Region IV-East Conference. 

  • Program must have been in practice a minimum of 3 years and a maximum of 5 years
  • Addresses a demonstrated need on campus
  • Contains an evaluation component
  • Demonstrates financial creativity or cost effectiveness
  • Encourages inclusion of diverse and/or multiple subgroups to participate
  • Enhances student learningInvolves collaboration with other college or university departments
  • Program should be adaptable at other institutions

Please Note: This award will be presented to the professional(s) responsible for the successful innovative program.  The award recipient(s) may be invited to present the selected program at the regional conference.

Award Information

Deadline: Aug. 23, 2019


Bernard Little

Awards & Exemplary Programs Chair

NASPA Region-IV East Board

Email: blittle4@depaul.edu

Apply Now



STEP 1: Write a letter of nomination.

STEP 2: Gather the nominee's contact information and resume/c.v.

STEP 3: Gather evidence of meeting the defined criteria for the award. Evidence may be in the form of descriptive material, testimonials, evaluations, assessments and/or other documentation.

STEP 4: Prepare a description (1-2 pages) of the program and its benefits to students and the institution

STEP 5: The person coordinating the nomination should gather the nomination materials (depending on the nomination may include letter(s) of support, a proposal, resume/C.V, etc.), visit the awards' website and submit the materials online. All of the application materials must be uploaded at the same time. 

STEP 6: Submit the nomination by the published deadline.

Current Recipients

Past Recipients

  • 2017 | GUARD

    - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • 2016 | Recovery Community

    - St. Cloud State University

  • 2015 | Thursdays in the D

    - Wayne State University

  • 2014 | Christopher Jorgenson

    Fireball - University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire